People

  • faculty

  • christopher-celenza

    Christopher Celenza

    (On leave) Charles Homer Haskins Professor
    PhD, Duke University; DrPhil, University of Hamburg

    celenza@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Renaissance Latin, paleaeography, history of classical tradition

  • Pier Forni

    Pier Massimo Forni

    Professor and Director of the Italian Subdivision
    PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

    410-516-8047 forni@jhu.edu Gilman 422

    Research Interests: Italian literature; history and theory of civility

  • WalterStephens_JHU0017_web

    Walter Stephens

    Charles S. Singleton Professor of Italian Studies and Director of Graduate Studies, Italian
    PhD, Cornell University, PhD, Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa

    410-516-7229 walter.stephens@jhu.edu Gilman 408

    Research Interests: Medieval and Renaissance Italian literature

  • Bernadette Wegenstein

    Bernadette Wegenstein

    Research Professor and Media Theorist; Director, Center for Advanced Media Studies
    PhD, Vienna University

    410-516-7511 berna@jhu.edu Gilman 461

  • Language Program Directors

  • Alessandro Zannirato

    Alessandro Zannirato

    Associate Teaching Professor and Italian Language Program Director
    PhD, University of Cape Town

    410-516-7230 zannirato@jhu.edu Gilman 448B

    Research Interests: Foreign language pedagogy; foreign language teacher training; liaison, community and conference interpreting; program evaluation

  • Joint and Secondary Appointments

  • Gianna Pomata

    Professor, Institute of the History of Medicine

    410-955-3037 gpomata1@jhmi.edu

    Research Interests: Early modern European social and cultural history

  • Susan Weiss

    Professor, Peabody Conservatory
    PhD, University of Maryland

    sweiss@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Musicology

  • Visiting Faculty

  • James Coleman

    Visiting Assistant Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Italian

    410-516-4626 james.coleman@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Italian literature

  • Affiliated Faculty

  • Stephen J. Campell

    Henry and Elizabeth Wiesenfeld Professor, History of Art

    410-516-4928 stephen.campbell@jhu.edu Gilman 170

  • Richard Katz

    Professor and Chair, Political Science

    410-516-7534 richard.katz@jhu.edu Mergenthaler 327

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics (Parties, Elections, European politics), American Politics

  • Jean McGarry

    Professor and Co-chair, Writing Seminars

    410-516-6286 mcgarry@jhu.edu

  • Lawrence M. Principe

    Professor, History of Science and Technology; Director, Singleton Center for the Study of Premodern Europe
    PhD, History of Science, Johns Hopkins University; PhD, Organic Chemistry, Indiana University

    410-516-4807 lmafp@jhu.edu Gilman 376

    Research Interests: Early modern and late medieval science and technology, especially the history of alchemy/chemistry and issues of science and theology/religion

  • Matthew Roller

    Professor, Classics
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-5095 mroller@jhu.edu Gilman 102

    Research Interests: Latin literature; Roman social and cultural history; Graeco-Roman philosophy