French Program

People

  • faculty

  • Anderson_JHU2645_web

    Wilda Anderson

    Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, French
    PhD, Cornell University

    wilda@wilda.org Gilman 418

    Research Interests: The literature of the French Enlightenment; the relationship between science and literature; the French Revolution and its aftermath

  • Sara Miglietti

    Assistant Professor
    PhD, Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa & Université Paris Descartes

    410-516-4911 smiglie1@jhu.edu Gilman 481

    Research Interests: Renaissance literature and intellectual history; book history; translation and reception studies; history of political thought; environmental humanities; Michel Foucault

  • Jacques Neefs

    Jacques Neefs

    James M. Beall Professor of French
    Director of Graduate Studies for French (Spring 2016)
    PhD (Doctorat d’État), University Paris 8

    410-516-7727 jneefs@jhu.edu Gilman 482

    Research Interests: 19th-20th-century French literature; genetic criticism

  • Stephen Nichols

    Stephen Nichols

    Professor Emeritus and Research Professor; James M. Beall Professor Emeritus of French and Humanities
    PhD, Yale University

    410-516-4736 stephen.nichols@jhu.edu Gilman 477

    Research Interests: Medieval French literature

  • Elena Russo

    Elena Russo

    Professor and Director of Graduate Studies for French (Fall 2015)
    PhD, Princeton University

    410-516-7622 erusso@jhu.edu Gilman 488

    Research Interests: 17th- and 18th-century French literature

  • Derek Schilling

    Derek Schilling

    Professor and Director of the French Subdivision
    PhD/Doctorat du 3e cycle, University of Pennsylvania/University of Paris 8 (Vincennes/Saint-Denis)

    410-516-4626 dschill4@jhu.edu Gilman 426

    Research Interests: Modern and contemporary French literature; film esthetics and theory; geocriticism; urban and suburban studies

  • Language Program Directors

  • KristinCookG

    Kristin Anna Cook-Gailloud

    Senior Lecturer and French Language Program Director
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    410-516-8017 kacg@jhu.edu Gilman 442

  • Lecturers

  • Bruce Anderson

    Senior Lecturer, French Language; Coordinator, Advanced Writing and Speaking in French

    410-516-0478 bcanderson70@gmail.com Gilman 417 | Office Hours: Tuesday 3-4 p.m. & Wednesday 2-3 p.m.

  • Lenaig Cariou

    Junior Lecturer, French

    410-516-0095 lcariou1@jhu.edu Gilman 449 | Office Hours: Wednesdays, 1-3 p.m.

  • Claude Guillemard

    Senior Lecturer, French Language and Culture; Coordinator, French Elements

    410-516-6041 claude@jhu.edu Gilman 444 | Office Hours: Tuesdays, 5:45-6:45; Wednesdays, 12:30-1:30 p.m.; Fridays, 1:30-2:30; and by appointment

  • Alexandre Labat

    Lecturer, French

    410-516-0095 alabat1@jhu.edu Gilman 449 | Office Hours: Wednesdays, 1-4 p.m.

  • Suzanne Roos

    Senior Lecturer; Coordinator, Intermediate French

    410-516-8059 sroos@jhu.edu Gilman 446

  • Sue Waterman

    Lecturer, MSE Library

    waterman@jhu.edu Gilman 401

  • April Wuensch

    Senior Lecturer, French Language; Coordinator, La France Contemporaine

    410-516-7228 april@jhu.edu Gilman 448A

  • Joint and Secondary Appointments

  • Todd Shepard

    Associate Professor, History
    PhD, Rutgers University-New Brunswick

    410-516-8512 tshep75@jhu.ed

    Research Interests: Modern France and French empire, decolonization, gender and sexuality

  • Visiting Faculty

  • Evelyn Ender

    Visiting Professor

    410-516-4884 e.ender@jhu.edu Gilman 261 | Office Hours: Mondays, 4:30-5:30, and Tuesdays, 4-5:30

  • Visiting

  • Lauren Du Graf

    Visiting Researcher, French
    UNC-Chapel Hill

    laurendugraf@gmail.com

  • Victor Taylor

    Visiting Scholar, French
    York College of Pennsylvania

    vetaylor@ycp.edu